Living Example

Living your life for Christ is an amazing experience. It’s been the most exciting journey I’ve ever been on. Since turning 20 and finding my way back to the Church, I’ve never been happier. I see God working in all areas of my life, and when I stand back and really observe what’s changed and how far I’ve come, I get an overwhelming sense of peace.

It’s the greatest experience, and I really want everyone to experience it. To keep this feeling to myself would not only be selfish but also against God’s word. I’ve been reflecting on all the ways I can share my journey – my testimony, this blog, inviting people to church with me. However, I know not everyone is open to listening, and not everyone wants to hear the Word. Lately I’ve decided the best way for me to share the changes God has made in my life is simply by action and living my life in a way that would honor God.

I still talk about my faith any chance I get. Sometimes I find myself rambling and I just can’t shut up about it, which in and of itself is such a feat. Beforehand, I would never talk about my relationship with God. I would tell people it was a “private relationship” and that I didn’t feel the need to “explain it” to anyone. But in all reality, I didn’t answer any questions or talk about my faith for two reasons. For one, I was scared. I didn’t have a relationship with God. I constantly go back to all the times my mom would ask me, “If you were to die today, do you know that you are going to heaven?” Of course, I would say yes, but I wasn’t actually sure, and that scared me. Now I know, without a shadow of a doubt, that when my day comes I will be rejoicing with the Lord in Heaven.

The second reason I didn’t talk about my faith was because I was not living for God. I didn’t and still do not think it’s acceptable for us to spread the word of God if we’re not living for him. To a nonbeliever or even a new believer, it may hinder their walk. If someone sees that we’re a Christian, but there’s no change in our life, then why would they feel they needed God? For that, they could just live their life in a reckless manner and sleep in on Sundays.

Living your life for God isn’t always the easiest thing to do. Some sundays, I would love to roll over and go back to sleep. But I get out of bed and go to church, and I always feel amazing during and after service. It’s a great way to start my week, and I look forward to it all week. Sometimes it’s not easy seeing all of my friends getting dressed and going out to parties while I stay at home. For a very long time, I was going out and getting drunk and high with all my friends and posting it all over social media for the world to see. I had an awful mouth and I didn’t care who saw or heard.

Now I know I have a lot of people keeping me accountable, watching my actions, and I want more than anything to be a living example and positive influence in everyone’s lives around me. And while some days it is hard to be a Christian, I believe that if God is really in our lives, it becomes a very rewarding journey. It becomes easy to give up things that aren’t honorable because they’re only holding us back. When our lives begin to revolve around God, the things that aren’t good for us are replaced by things that are. There’s so much love in my life that I don’t feel the need to be in an altered state of mind or be hateful to people around me. I want simply to love people the way God would have me love them, and do great things.

It’s when we live our lives in this way that we can impact people who don’t necessarily want to talk. We become living examples of love and light and eventually, people will look at us and think, “I want what they’re having.” At least, that’s the goal.

I know I’ve got a long way to go – I feel my journey is never over and there will always be room for improvement and change. But I know that whatever I come to, God will carry me through it and make an example out of me. I hope the people around me see the change that has been made inside of me, and even if I only affect oner person, I’ve done what I’ve been called to do.

“And you yourself must be an example to them by doing good works of every kind. Let everything you do reflect the integrity and seriousness of your teaching.” – Titus 2:7

4 thoughts on “Living Example

  1. natalilopez says:

    I feel now, exactly how you felt back then. I’m trying to change my ways and get closer to Him, but it is hard and we all have flaws. I know mine and I work on them everyday. It doesn’t mean that I love God less, it just means that I’m learning to love myself the way HE loves me. ❤ Keep posting love!

    -Natali

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m so proud of you for wanting to make those moves, and I’m glad you’re reading my blog! Please, if you ever need anything, don’t hesitate to text or call me! I would love to help in any way possible. Love you lots! ❤

      Like

  2. olga quintana says:

    Wow Nate, must read your blog. Very proud of what you are doing and what God is doing in your life. This brings me great joy.

    Like

  3. Travy says:

    Love love love b

    Like

Leave a Reply

