The Law of Attraction

The law of attraction is the name given to the belief that “like attracts like” and that by focusing on positive or negative thoughts, one can bring about positive or negative results. This belief is based upon the idea that people and their thoughts are both made from “pure energy”, and the belief that like energy attracts like energy. One example used by a proponent of the law of attraction is that if a person opened an envelope expecting to see a bill, then the law of attraction would “confirm” those thoughts and contain a bill when opened. A person who decided to instead expect a cheque might, under the same law, find a cheque instead of a bill.” – Wikipedia

As I was driving around yesterday, this idea kept popping into my head. I can’t even really remember where I heard “The Law of Attraction.” Now this idea is a little far fetched – to think we can simply create a check or a bill or any object just by thinking it is a little crazy. But as I got to thinking, I began to think that we could take the principal of this idea and apply it to our lives in many ways.

Last week, after I informed my mom on my decision to rededicate my life to Christ through baptism, she told me that as I began this walk, God would bring the right people into my life. That same night, I received a text message from an old friend that I had a falling out with a long time ago. This friend apologized for our messy past, and let me know that if I ever had any questions or needed any help, I could contact him. In the same way that “like attracts like” in the idea of The Law of Attraction, I believe that God attracts positive influences into your life once you make the conscious decision to change. I’m learning that God is not going to make me do this on my own. He’s going to attract great people and opportunities in my life that will further me in my walk.

On the same token, if we fill our lives with negative people and influences, we can only expect to have negative outcomes. While I’ve had great friends my entire life, I’ve often filled my life with negative things in attempt to make myself happy. For a very long time I was consumed by partying and alcohol. These were all temporary highs. I was only happy for a little bit, and in the end I was left feeling desolate and helpless. It was a dangerous cycle of temporary highs and devastating lows. Until I began to let God back into my life, these things didn’t change. But when I did let him in, it was amazing how quickly things turned around. I no longer had the desire to party or get drunk. It lost its appeal.

Last night at Tribes, we talked about the fruit of the spirit. The two we touched on most were joy and self-control. These are two very hard areas in my life. I find myself so stressed out and busy, I rarely have time to feel joy. Sometimes, we just need to slow down and really take things in. We touched on the idea that, if we feel hope and joy in our soul, we’re going to express that through the things we say and do. Again, like in The Law of Attraction, if we wake up thinking positive thoughts and spending time in the Word and with God, I believe this can effect our entire day. For anyone that knows me, you know I am NOT a morning person. I usually wake up grumpy, roll over and try to go back to sleep, and end up in bed until the last minute. Then I’m left running around, stressed and trying to get out of the door. Today, instead of doing that, I woke up and spent about half an hour with God. I didn’t even get out of bed, I just opened my blinds and let the sun in and read a few passages from my Bible and said a prayer. As a result, I had a much better morning than I usually do. I was able to get dressed and have breakfast before heading out the door (and I also did really well on my exam!).

I’m challenging my self this week to take the principal of The Law of Attraction and apply it to my walk. If I think positive, act positive, then I’ll most likely have a positive outcome. If I slow down and take time to experience the joy God has filled my life with, I’ll be much happier as a whole. If I live a positive lifestyle, then good, positive people who will walk beside me in this journey will be attracted in to my life. I know that God will help me sift out the negative influences and things that I no longer need to hold on to; things that in the end are only going to drag me down.

“Walk with the wise to become wise, for the companion of fools suffers harm. – Proverbs 13:20

Also, I would like to thank any and every person who helped my mom and brother and cousin come up to San Marcos this past weekend to be there for my baptism. It means the world to me; you’ve all been amazing blessings in mine and my family’s lives. 

Leave a Reply

